Femme Identity

19 Mar

I have been reading recently a paper about femme identity. The paper entitled, the Misunderstood Gender: A Model Of Modern Femme identity by Heidi M. Levitt, Elisabeth A. Gerrish and Katherine R. Hiestand was published in the journal Sex Roles in 2003. The paper surveyed a number of femme identified women about how they saw themselves, their identity and sexuality. The paper also discussed the lack of scholarly study on the femme identity (there is a lager body of work on the butch identity) and a general misunderstanding within the lesbian community and heterosexual community regarding this gender identity.

I found the paper very interesting and positively affirming of my own feelings about femininity and lesbian sexuality. Although I don’t identify solely as femme (I sometimes think of myself as a “semi femme”) many of the views and feelings reflect my own. There was one difference though, I don’t define myself as a lesbian woman attracted primarily to butch women. I am attracted to who I am attracted to, namely women with strength, toughness, beauty, sensuality, a certain difference. I love glamour and dresses and make-up, but I this doesn’t define my attraction to this or the opposite, as in the butch identity.

Reference – The Misunderstood Gender

3 Responses to “Femme Identity”

  1. sapphicscientist March 20, 2013 at 7:42 am #

    Reblogged this on Sapphicscientist's Blog.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Femme Identity continued | Lipstick On My Lab Coat - March 20, 2013

    […] on from my post Femme Identity, I am curious to know the opinions of other lesbians (femme, butch and non-identified) about this […]

  2. Femme Identity & Me | Lipstick On My Lab Coat - April 4, 2013

    […] the femme identity in the future. I have also previously posted on Femme Identity, see my posts Femme Identity and Femme Identity […]

Leave a Reply

