Femme Identity continued

20 Mar

Following on from my post Femme Identity, I am curious to know the opinions of other lesbians (femme, butch and non-identified) about this gender identity and how this is perceived.

I have a very positive view. And I particularly admire when femme identified lesbians state that their gender identification has little to do with who they attracted to, but rather how they wish to express their sexuality. Personally I think the femme identity is empowered femininity, a form of femininity (expressed through feminine dress, hair and make-up) expressed along with a strong statement regarding sexuality, and an embracing of and power over their own body, image and sexuality, which is feminist.

I find the neo-burlesque and a neo-pin up movements expressions of empowered femininity. These are subcultures, lifestyles and fashions where modern women, feminist women, can embrace their femaleness and express their female (and lesbian) sexuality in a way they want to, and not solely for a male (or female) gaze. I love that these movements embrace fashions, performance and some ideas from by-gone eras, but also incorporate elements of sexual freedom, equality and alternative fashions (such as tattoos, gothic fashion, vintage fashion and fetish fashion).

2 Responses to “Femme Identity continued”

  1. sapphicscientist March 20, 2013 at 5:03 pm #

    Reblogged this on Sapphicscientist's Blog.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Femme Identity & Me | Lipstick On My Lab Coat - April 4, 2013

    […] I sometimes identify as a “semi-femme” (a term of my own making, which I use to describe myself within a femme context), other times as “just myself.” But I do find the femme identity very empowering and inspiring. I may chose to more closely identify with the femme identity in the future. I have also previously posted on Femme Identity, see my posts Femme Identity and Femme Identity Continued. […]

Leave a Reply

