Bisexual Pride / Visibility Day

24 Sep

Unbeknownst to me, it was Bisexual Pride / Visibility Day yesterday, 23rd September. A day to celebrate bisexuality and educate society on bisexuality, Biphobia and discrimination of bisexual people. If I had know I would have worn pink, purple and blue in support. When coming out I identified as bisexual (I no longer identify as this though) and I am a big advocate for acceptance and understanding of bisexuality in the LGBTQI community.

Links
Pink News – Bi-Visibility Day

20130924-071110.jpg (Source – Wikipedia – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bisexual_pride_flag)

2 Responses to “Bisexual Pride / Visibility Day”

  1. sydneysavoigne October 19, 2013 at 4:20 pm #

    “When coming out I identified as bisexual (I no longer identify as this though) and I am a big advocate for acceptance and understanding of bisexuality in the LGBTQI community”

    It’s really awesome that you ended up not identifying as bi, but you still respect it as a legitimate sexual orientation. My boyfriend is bi- he’s sure he’s bi, he just can’t shake his interest in both penis and vagina, try as he might. Yet a lot of gay men insist that he’s gay and just hasn’t found the courage to come out yet. Which is silly, because he actually did identify as gay for a while, until other gay men told him that gay men don’t like vaginas at all, and he on the other hand wanted to have sex with vaginas as often as he could (which still left him time to have sex with men as well).

    Anyway, point being, a lot of people who end up identifying as gay (or anything else) seem to believe that everyone else is in the same position, and will eventually move on from their bi identity. It’s refreshing to see someone who knows that just because they weren’t ultimately bi, doesn’t mean other people cant be.

    Also, I’m totally bummed out that I didn’t think of wearing pink, purple, and blue. I was trying to think of a way to celebrate, but I couldn’t come up with anything, and wearing the colors is so obvious! I’m such an idiot sometimes.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Here’s what you missed on Glee: biphobia | Still Not Shakespeare - October 7, 2013

    […] Bisexual Pride / Visibility Day (lipstickonmylabcoat.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

